AMU vice chancellor volunteers for Covaxin trial, wins praise

By Staff Reporter, The Site

Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) vice chancellor Professor Tariq Mansoor has volunteered for the Covaxin trials Phase-III developed by Bharat Biotech which began at JN Medical College and Hospital of AMU on Tuesday. 

“He has decided to lead from the front as he got himself registered to be the first volunteer," an official AMU press statement noted. 
“In order to motivate and inspire others to come forward, Prof Tariq Mansoor volunteered himself and said Covaxin Phase-III trial is aimed at evaluating the safety and efficacy of the Covid-19 vaccine study led in collaboration with Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)  and Bharat Biotech,” it added. 

Seeking active participation from all age groups and socio-economic strata to participate in the clinical trials, Prof. Mansoor said, “By volunteering for a trial or study, one get a chance to participate in ground breaking research and contribute to developing better cures and treatment options.”

The principal of JNMCH Prof Shahid Ali Siddiqui , informed that an ethical committee comprising doctors, social workers and lawyers has already been constituted to manage the clinical trials and the required staff for conducting the vaccine trial has been recruited and the registration of volunteers has also been started from today. 

The Principal Investigator Prof Mohammad Shameem said that it’s an ICMR Covaxin Phase-III trial as the Phase-I and Phase-II has shown encouraging results. Volunteers who will undergo the trial will receive travel expenses and other benefits as per ICMR guidelines.  

Dean Faculty of Medicine Prof Rakesh Bhargava urged all colleagues to volunteer this vaccine trial. 

While attending the inaugural function, strict COVID 19 protocols with social distancing measures were observed by officials including AMU Registrar, Mr Abdul Hamid (IPS); Chairperson, Department of Medicine, Prof Shadab A Khan; ENT Chairperson, Prof Kamlesh Chandra; Chairperson, Department of Surgery, Prof S Amjad Ali Rizvi; Chairperson, Obstetrics and Gynaecology Prof Nishat Akhtar; Coordinator Interdisciplinary Biotechnology Unit, Prof Asad U khan; Chairperson, Community Medicine Prof Anees Ahmad , ChairpersonDepartment of Social Works, Prof Naseem Ahmad Khan ,  EC Member Prof Najam Khaliq and others.

Related Posts

Leave A Comment