Six research scholars of JMI awarded Prime Minister Research Fellowship 

Six research scholars from Jamia Millia Islamia (JMI) have been awarded the Prime Minister Research Fellowship (PMRF) under the Lateral Entry Scheme of the December 2020 drive. 

Fozia Tabasum (Civil Engineering), Momina (Civil Engineering), Azra Malik (Electrical Engineering),Firoz Khan (Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology), Aaliya Taiyab (Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Basic Sciences) & Ashi Saif (Center for Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation Sciences) are the scholars who received the award. 

JMI Vice-Chancellor, Najma Akhtar congratulated each one of them personally.  She said that five out of six research scholars are girl students that show how well they are doing in research. She hopes this it would inspire other students, particularly girl students of the university to do well in science and research. JMI stands for excellence and strives hard to provide its students with every possible support to achieve great heights, she said.

The Vice-Chancellor also appreciated the efforts of the Coordinator PMRF-JMI Prof Abdul Quaiyum Ansari for the great achievement.

Prof Abdul Quaiyum Ansari, Coordinator PMRF-JMI said that six researchers would be individually getting a per month fellowship of Rs 70, 000 for first two years, Rs 75,000 for 3rd year, Rs.80,000 for the fourth and fifth year respectively. Apart from this, each Fellow would be getting a research grant of Rs. 2 Lakhs per year (a total of Rs 10 Lakhs for five years) under the PMRF.

Previously, under the Lateral Entry Scheme of May 2020, Marya Khan and Abgeena Shabir, from the Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (CNN), JMI were also selected for the fellowship.

Related Posts

Leave A Comment